March 27

My Stan State COVID Vaccination Story

Hello everyone,
I hope everyone is doing well during these interesting times. We’ve been in a pandemic for a year now and just being aware of that is very draining on our bodies, so I hope we’re all taking in as much self-care as we can. I know I have pandemic fatigue, so if you’re feeling any of that as well: don’t worry, you are not alone.
When I first heard of the COVID-19 virus, I was actually at Stan State. I did not think much of it at first. Then we walked into the storm. Fast forward weeks and months later, Stan State started to hold an anchoring role in my entire pandemic experience. Once COVID because a politicized, partisan issue, I started to become even more critical of the news I was consuming. Some news channels were saying one thing, and others were saying the exact opposite. It all was becoming too much.
At some point I decided it was best to just forego subscribing to some of the larger news outlets and started relying heavily on Stan State news. I knew Stan State would filter the news for the Warrior community in a way that was not happening anywhere online or on TV. Even now, I am so grateful for Stan State and all its labor that did not go unrecognized during those truly hard times!
Well, fast forward once more to 5:30pm on March 3, 2021. It was the evening and I just finished sitting through my last class of the day, when I suddenly received a text message from Stan State informing that COVID vaccine eligibility now included employees in educational sector. The text also included an announcement that the clinic on-campus would be open for a few more hours that day and there were vaccines available for anyone meeting these new eligibility requirements. I wasn’t sure if I qualified, but upon receiving that text, I decided to show up to campus and at least ask. 
Long story short, I arrived to Stan State around 6pm and by 7:40pm, I was on my way home with a Pfitzer vaccine in my arm! I could not believe it. I did not anticipate being eligible for any vaccine at least until May. To my surprise, once again Stan State became a central figure in my entire pandemic experience. I am so grateful that for whatever reason, Stan State became a vaccine distribution center as well as a source of credible information throughout this entire year of uncertainty! 
On March 24th, I became fully vaccinated. A day later on the 25th I turned 25 and all I have to say is receiving the vaccines at Stan State has been the best birthday present I could asked for, especially during an on-going global pandemic. I am still going to continue taking precautions, but I am now much less worried about leaving my home ever.


Posted March 27, 2021 by mannyscsustan in category Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “My Stan State COVID Vaccination Story

  1. Neesha

    I’m getting my second dose next week and I’m so happy that our university is offering this vital service to the community! Can’t wait to breathe a sigh of relief when I’m fully vaccinated. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*