March 25

Stan State Annual Research Competition

Hello Everyone, 

I hope March is going well for all of us 😊 

I know it has been a very busy, but exciting month for me. This week alone I have done so much. While it has been stressful at times, I absolutely would not have it any other wayI consider it a huge privilege to have so many commitments and to be so involved with Stan State 😊  

A year ago our campus went remote, and distance learning became the new normremember being upset, not only because I just loved being on campus and knew I would no longer be able to visit campus so easily, but also because I was looking forward to showing up to the annual research competition 

Well, fast forward a full year since then, I am so excited to share that I participated and was nominated to apply to serve as a delegate to the larger CSU wide research competition. If I choose to apply, I will get to represent Stan State at the annual competition that brings together all the CSU campuses and its student researchers to showcase their findings. Normally, this would take place in-person in Southern California. This year, the competition will be happening virtually and whether I participate or not, I am simply excited to share that I DID THAT and have the option of doing so! I never thought I would one day actually be able to do something that, because stage fright and public speaking fears, but time has a funny way of making us step out of our comfort zones 😊  

My research focus is on Basic Needs and Academic Outcomes. I have basically been looking at how the Basic Needs Program here at Stan State helps students academically. I felt so grateful I was given the opportunity to present on a topic that means so much to me. Not only was I able to elevate the conversation of food and housing insecurity to the campus community through this research competition, I was also given such a huge experience to add to my resume/CV for when I apply to PhD programs! It was a grow two plants with one seed’ type of thing 😊  

I’m so grateful Stan State has given me this experience, who knows if I would have been granted this elsewhere. There were both undergraduate and graduate students involved, which I appreciate because I learned so much.  

If you’re thinking about wanting to do research, either in STEM or in the social sciences and humanities, or both, know Stan State is a university that can grant you the opportunities to partake in work that means something to you as well as a stage to showcase your work to the campus community and elsewhere! 😊  


Posted March 25, 2021 by mannyscsustan in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “Stan State Annual Research Competition

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*