April 8

Update on Online Classes

Hello all,

Today I visited campus to pick up a device the university is lending students and I managed to captured the image below.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was surprised to find a campus with some activity to it. There were people exercising, construction going on, and a few vehicles in the student parking lots. However, it was extremely empty in comparison to normal days where life is going on all around the university. All in all, it was nice to be back on campus. I forgot how beautiful campus can be. Spring is definitely in the air and campus is looking greener. Campus felt so rejuvenating. Simply walking around campus for a second made me forget that this pandemic is going on.

Online classes are going (okay). Professors seem to be working with caution and doing all they can to ensure that we’re not feeling too pressured. I am grateful for that. I cannot imagine continuing completely like normal because this is not normal. I’ve realized that online classes have given me a greater interest in researching our class topics in ways that extend beyond the mandatory readings. During the normal school term, it can be difficult to do the assigned reading let alone anything extra. Now that I have more time on my hands, I am doing just that. I am not only reading my assigned texts but also googling dates, figures, and events in order to give myself more context. I wish I was doing this before! It would definitely have given me a firmer grasp on class topics.

 

I do miss in-person instruction but this is fine. I miss being a student inside a classroom, with a professor, but this is necessary right now so it’s fine. I hope everyone else is doing okay! This is our new normal and it’ll take some time to fully adjust to but with everything going “smoothly” so far academically, I have no room to complain.

I just know that in some time, this will seem like such a long time ago and it’ll make me appreciate the beauty that is Stan State in more profound ways.


Posted April 8, 2020 by mannyscsustan in category Uncategorized

1 thoughts on “Update on Online Classes

  1. Neesha

    Nice photos of campus. I live nearby and going for walks on campus have helped me from feeling cooped up in the house. I’m glad you were able to get out for a bit. Everyone is adjusting to this new normal.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*